Maryland Babies

UMD, St Joes, or GBMC?? New to Baltimore

Hi there,

I am new to Baltimore and 10 weeks along. I am not sure where to deliever at? I have an OB at UMD but curious about Saint Joesphs or GBMC. I want an at home/ cushy birthing environment but not doing a natural birth (will be doing an epidural). Basically want a nice room that my husband and I will feel comfortable in. UMD seems very hospital like but also haven't toured the labor and delivery. I guess there is also Mercy. It's really hard to find info on the internet and don't know anyone who has delivered in Baltimore. Any recommendations are greatly appreciated!! 

Re: UMD, St Joes, or GBMC?? New to Baltimore

• I'm delivering my second at Mercy with Kathy Slone and assoc.. Her team is fabulous at treating you like family and respecting your birth plan as closely as possible. Mercy also offers tub birthing and large private birthing suites overlooking the Baltimore skyline.
  • I remember hospital rooms at St Joes not in L&D but elsewhere and I was impressed. Dr Daya is an excellent Dr and he has privileges at both St Josephs and GBMC. I think he prefers GBMC and does most deliveries there, that speaks volumes to me also. I do recall my DH and his ex delivered SD at St Joes schedule C section and he didn't get to see a thing (from what he remembers) that there bothered me, i got the impression they were strict so I would go elsewhere first (I could be mistaken though this is MY feeling)

I know you weren't specifically asking Dr recs, maybe you could tour both L&D?

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Loading the player...