Babies: 3 - 6 Months

NBR: cat owners help!

So I've only had a cat since right before we got pregnant so I'm pretty new to it all! Our cat gets litter ALL OVER the room the litter box is in and the box is huge! It has a lid on it and I have one of those mats that are supposed to catch the litter. What do you do to prevent this? I'm thinking about getting a sliding glass pet door for my patio and keeping it out there. Once em starts crawling and walking I know it's going to be an issue.i have it gated off now but I really don't like looking in there and seeing litter everywhere! Makes the room pretty useless to anything else. What kind of box do you have or what can you suggest?

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: NBR: cat owners help!

• I'm an RVT and what I tell my clients is cats don't like hooded litter boxes because it keeps the ammonia smell in the box and they get litter everywhere because they don't stay in e box long enough to burry. Also what kind of litter are you using because
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • I'm curious as well. I've had cats my whole life and have never found a way to end this problem. We don't have a lid on our litter box. I have tried different mats, different litter boxes, different litter. I just have to vacuum often.
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic 
  • Loading the player...
  • The thing I have found that is key in owning pets, vacuum often.
    Lilypie Kids Birthday tickersLilypie Third Birthday tickersImage and video hosting by TinyPic
  • I echo PPs suggestion of frequent vacuuming.

We have an old piece of carpet in front of their box which seems to help catch the litter better.  It's a piece of commercial carpet from our church.  Seems to work better than those rubber m