Babies: 3 - 6 Months
Options

It's all my fault =(

I'm so upset. I felt bad that I wasn't taking my DS (he's almost 6 mths) anywhere lately because I didn't want him to get sick. On the other hand I felt bad because he wasn't getting any exposure to other kids which he seems to enjoy the few times he has. So I took him to a 2 year old's bday party Saturday and now he has his first cold. If I never took him, he wouldn't be sick right now. My sister said its fine, he needs to build his immunity but I still feel awful. I'm just babbling....

Re: It's all my fault =(

• Options
    Don't feel bad. I think all winter babies end up with a cold somehow. I am a teacher so I bring home lots of germs, but thats just life. My LO has a cold now too, but she doesn't seem to worse for the wear. These things happen and he will be better in no time!
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options
    I mean, you can't keep him in a bubble his whole life.  He's gonna get sick, Mama.  It's actually good for them to get sick when they are this little--it helps them build their immune systems.  Just watch him closely for any signs of a bigger problem:  fever over 100.4, retractions when breathing, or if he doesn't start to get better after about 5 days, I would call the pedi.  It's hard seeing them like this, but he will get better!!  And its not your fault at all.
    Josh + Meagan 06.12.10/Baby J 11.8.12

Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    Your sister is right. It's just a cold. He can't live in a bubble his whole life. Try to relax.

• Options
    It's okay ;) my pedi told me is actually good for them to get these colds. It builds their immunity so they won't get sick easily in the future. Don't feel bad, I'm sure he loved watching all the kids a the party ;)
  • Options