September 2013 Moms
Options

Furious! Vent/warning

So, I've been on a medication called sertraline (Zoloft) for years to help with anxiety/worry. When I first found out I was pg, I asked the RE's nurse if Zoloft was okay, and she said, yup, it's a class B, so you're fine! Fast forward to today, when at work we get this email with a new JAMA article warning against the use of SSRIs (medications like sertraline) in pregnancy. I went to Dr. Google and found such conflicting information (different sites classified sertraline as either a B, C, or D class medication) and saw that it was indeed linked to low birth weight and premature delivery. So I finally called my OB. His response? "Um, Zoloft is nowhere near a class B medication!!" It's apparently a class C. 

I'm livid and have a half a mind to call RE and say something about his nurse. I'm also mad at myself for not doing my research, and to make matters worse, I'm a clinical psychologist! 

OB was awesome though. He said the only way I should stay on it is if I can't function w/out it. I told him I definitely could and the only thing that might happen is that my crazy worries about the pregnancy will increase. He said "That I can deal with all day. I say, let's bring it on!" 

I guess this just goes to show that you always need to do your own homework and don't trust information at face value... 

BabyFruit Ticker image

Re: Furious! Vent/warning

• Options
    You should call the RE
    Lilypie Angel and Memorial tickersLilypie Third Birthday tickersLilypie First Birthday tickers
    Photobucket
  • Options
    I would call the RE's office and discuss this with them- it's a serious issue if the nurse didn't know what class the drug was in.  The doctor should have also reviewed all your current meds with you and the safety of continuing them during pregnancy before and procedures were performed.
    BabyFetus Ticker; Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • Options