Working Moms

Accounting professionals- corporate

I have always worked in the GL of Corporate Acct'g (sr level in the past 5 yrs).  I was offered a position today as an AP supervisor for a large corporation.  I have minimum experience in AP and I'm intrigued to learn a different aspect.

Pay is only slightly more (about 8%).  I am having a conflict with this.   I realize the pay for employees is also significantly less than the GL pays.  Often the employees are non-degreed. My other conflict is the high turnover in AP which is probably related to the salary.

Does anyone have experience with this and can offer words of advice?  I need to make a decision tonight/tomorrow a.m. to tell the recruiter. 

Perks are casual Fridays, title, exposure and 15 min less commute. Benefits are comparable.  I'm a little afraid I may be putting in add'l hrs. 

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Accounting professionals- corporate

• My DH and I work in the same field. My first thought is that an AP supervisor is not as title significant as sr accountant or accounting GL manager.  Those are just my first thoughts.  If you believe this is a step in the right direction for career growth, then it's a good decision. If you think it will hinder your options for growth, then a small pay increase isn't worth the change. Not putting down the position or the responsibilities, just thinking through career growth. 
  • imagemcanant:
    My DH and I work in the same field. My first thought is that an AP supervisor is not as title significant as sr accountant or accounting GL manager.  Those are just my first thoughts.  If you believe this is a step in the right direction for career growth, then it's a good decision. If you think it will hinder your options for growth, then a small pay increase isn't worth the change. Not putting down the position or the responsibilities, just thinking through career growth.