Military Families
Options

to wait or not to wait?

HI!

I don't really have anyone in my life who is interested in listening to my dilemma...or at least willing to listen long enough to help. Heard this was the place to go!

I am a third year law student and my husband is Army infantry stationed in South Korea. We know we want a family, he even more than I. The timing is what has me worked up. I am 29. We are realizing that he will likely be deployed in some fashion or another for the next three years. Do we wait for him to finish out his contract? Do we just get started right away? What if we wait and have trouble conceiving, as I age. What if we have no trouble and I am left raising a baby by myself and he misses everything. I guess I am just wondering how this worked for any of you. Is it horrible dealing with the pregnancy alone?

Thanks!

Re: to wait or not to wait?

• Options

Hey, hey!  Calm down.  :)  I think you are getting yourself worked up about a lot of things before they even happen.

One, he won't deploy for three years straight. Two, you have no idea whether or not you will have fertility problems. You might, but you might not.  Twenty-nine isn't necessarily old. I became pregnant the first month trying, at age 30, and had my son at 31, no problems or complications. Three, like many women before and after me, I went through most of the pregnancy, and the birth, alone. In addition, we have endured three more deployments (two for my husband, one for me) and countless TDYs.  It can be done. It's not easy, but it happens all the time.  And your coping skills only improve exponentially as time goes on.