Military Families

Freaking out - sorry, very long

Hi Ladies (and potentially gentleman as well), I actually posted a similar post last year and now I'm back in the same position again this year.

My DH is wrapping his doctorate in psychology and applying to internships all over the country. His top choices are primarily military sites (all branches). We'll find out on 2/22 where he matches. If he matches with any of the military sites, he will be commissioned as an officer late Spring, attend officer training this summer and we'll be re-locating late Summer to either DC, Ohio, San Diego,San Antonio, Seattle or August.

We totally made this decision as a family, and while I really want to support my husband because I know this is a great opportunity for him and I am proud of him for wanting to serve his country as a military psychologist, I am kind of freaking out too.

In particular, I am worried about uprooting our now 20 month old son and what this means for my own career. Right now, I am a full-time working mom with a job I love and have worked really hard for. Also, my son attends daycare part time while DH is in school and works part-time. We love his daycare and so does he is. If we re-locate, I will likely stay home for a little while until we acclimate and we also plan to have second child soon.

My last concern is that we currently have a lot of family/social support. We have a lot of family close by who are really good to us and I don't know what I'd do with this.

Sorry this is so long but I guess mostly I'm just looking for some idea what to expect and to hear from anyone who has shared this experience.  Particularly, I am interested in learning how easy/fesabile it is to have a career and raise a family with all of the uncertainty about where we'll be living from year to year and  the demands on my husband's time from the military.

Any advice, thoughts or tips are much appreciate. TIA.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Freaking out - sorry, very long