Cloth Diapering

NB diapers, specifically BG and Lil Joeys

Hey ladies.  I'm new to CDing, but have learned a lot about cloth from my sister who CDs my niece.  Our original plan was to do sposies until he could fit into our BG OS stash.  At barely 2 weeks old he developed a pretty wicked rash, so I wanted to get him into cloth as quick as possible (we did sposies and Desitin until it cleared).

We went to my sister's CD store and I found a bunch of pre-loved Lil Joeys.  Which I love, they are adorable.  But it seems as though LO is a heavy wetter and he leaks within 2 hours.  There is no room for any type of insert or doubler in the LJ.

I also bought a 6 pack of the BG NB size to round out our NB stash (also they were cheaper per diaper than the new LJs).  I had read back over a few pages of posts and found several about the BG NB and varying lengths of time they could wear them and if they were absorbent or not. He did make it 3 hours in a BG without a leak.

So my question is, if my son is a heavy wetter, can I add a doubler to the BGs?  There certainly seems to be enough room.  I feel like I'm going to have to sell the LJs (which breaks my heart, they're so cute!!) and just get more BGs.  I'm not interested in prefolds and covers or fitteds.  I like the AIO system for NB and DH does too.  If I can add a doubler, which kind do you suggest?  I know it has to be a particular kind because some things can't go directly against his skin. 

<3<3 "You know my name, not my story.
You've heard what I've done, not what I've been through.
If you were in my shoes, you'd fall the first step." <3<3

Re: NB diapers, specifically BG and Lil Joeys