Blended Families

Parental Rights

This is my first time posting on this board since I am PG and I usually post on my BMB.

My DD is almost 6 yrs old and her "dad" has been absent from her life since 10/31/2010....I got married 2012 after dating my DH for 3 years. My DD calls him dad and gets furious if anyone calls him her stepdad, she says he is my first dad.

Anyway, I talked to a few attorneys to see about having parental rights taken away and having my DH adopt her. Start up cost is $2500-$7500. I don't get this, it has been over 2 years since ANY contact from him or anyone in his family and NO child support but we have to pay a ton of money for her to be able to get what she wants which is the same last name as her mom and dad and her soon to be brother/sister. The system is wacked and now I either have to contact him and beg him to sign his rights over, which I don't think he will willingly do, or save up the money to pay an attorney. All the while my DD cries because she doesn't understand and wants it done now and we just don't have the money to do it now and it breaks my heart!

Image and video hosting by TinyPicImage and video hosting by TinyPicImage and video hosting by TinyPic

Re: Parental Rights

• Many states have forms online.  You could try filing without the help of an attorney.  Contact your state bar association and see what forms are available and also if there are any clinics near you that would provide some assistance.
    Stay at home mom to a house of boys: two amazing stepsons, 12 and 9, and our 4 year old.
  • My DS's BF also never paid CS, and never saw him even once. The adoption ended up being somewhere around 7 or 8K. I can't remember exactly how much it was.

On the plus side, because BF didn't want his family to know about DS, and he didn't want to have to pay back support, he signed his rights away with no issues. I hope everything goes just as smoothly for you as it did for us.

ETA: stupid lack of symbols. Thanks iPod