March 2013 Moms

Messing up at work

Anyone having trouble performing at work and getting called on it?? I'm a 1st grade teacher and this year has been tough for me. I'm usually extremely active, perky, and organized but this year I have been the total opposite. It of course hasn't been very effective for me. I was observed last week and my principal was less than thrilled. I'm currently 8 1/2 months pregnant and now I will have a coach observing me daily until my principal observes me again in a few weeks. I'm really stressed out now. I've always gotten excellent observations before. I really just want to focus on my baby right now. What do I do?

Re: Messing up at work

• Start maternity leave now or nesting ;) I'm sorry you're dealing with this.
    Been married since 2009.
    Unicornuate Uterus (yes I menstruate glitter)
    Several MCs
    DD born 2013 (our miracle "you can't have babies" baby!)

• I guess your right but I hate to sacrifice any of my leave with her after she's born.
  • Loading the player...
  • I wouldn't take leave early! Hang in there.
    Lilypie First Birthday tickers Lilypie Pregnancy tickers
  • On the one hand, I would say that it is a bit unfair to be getting observed this far along in your pregnancy.  However, we are still getting paid and expected to perform our jobs.  

I seems a bit excessive to have a coach daily in your room until you get observed again.  This does not happen in our district unless there has been more than one poor observation.  I guess it depends on what the principal's concerns were.  Was the lesson poorly taught?  Did the lesson not follow the plan?  Were the students unclear of what to do and was little support given?  Or was it that you were moving around the room less or not getting down on your first graders' levels as much as they worked?