Boston Babies

Thinking about moving to Boston :)

Hey Bumpies.

A little intro: My SO and I are both 21, and expecting our first son in just a few short weeks! He is originally from Northern CA, and I am from Southern Ca. We both now live (temporarily, hopefully) in Southern CA. I just completed my final semester of school in July, and have been taking a pause on the job hunt as of late. Seeing as though I was 5ish months pregnant when I graduated college, I hadn't been having any luck with a job hunt.

I am now currently trying to pursue my career in travel, tourism & hospitality. We both really love Boston, and wanted to ask fellow parents and/or parents-to-be:

1. What is the cost of living in your neighborhood? (median income, housing costs, etc.)
  2. What are the demographics like in your neighborhood?
  3. (in your opinion) Where are the safest neighborhoods for a family?
  4. Have you made the move from out of state? From where? What was it like?
 Thanks for all your help, ladies!
V|V TSP V|V

Re: Thinking about moving to Boston :)

• What is the cost of living in your neighborhood? (median income, housing costs, etc.)

It's high. I'm in metrowest suburbs. Median Price for a SFH is 1.2M in my town. The next town over has some rentals, they run about 2.5k/month for 2 bedroom apts. DC centers in my area range from $450-$550/wk.

What are the demographics like in your neighborhood?

My neighborhood is fairly Caucasian. Age is very varied - everything from newly weds to retirees.

(in your opinion) Where are the safest neighborhoods for a family?

In the city or the suburbs? City-wise, I'd say there are some areas of JP that are amazing, Brookline is great, East Boston is supposed to be "up and coming" and is very reasonably priced.

Have you made the move from out of state? From where? What was it like?