2nd Trimester

Baby Girl 'Luca Eve'

Re: Baby Girl 'Luca Eve'

• I'm a photographer and recently did a shoot where the little girl was named Luca. Before I met her I didn't like that name for a girl but it suited her well. 
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • I love, love, love the name Luca.  That was our definite girls name...until we found out last week that we are having a boy.  :) 
    BabyFruit Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • Thank you! I've had some strong negative reactions on here like I'm trying to rob all of Italian culture! Normally very strongly opinionated but the negativity has effected me somewhat. Appreciate the support!!!!!
  • Isn't Luca a boys name?
    TTC since May 2012; BFP July 31st, 2012; EDD April 13th, 2013 BabyFruit Ticker BabyFetus Ticker Anniversary
  • Thank you! May I ask what about the name suited her? 
  • imageRussianMommy:
    Isn't Luca a boys name?

My initial thought was this as well.
  • Thank you Alayna! May I ask your choices? 

I feel like there is a group of people who have named their son Luca or similar and see it moving into the feminine side in this country and many others and that they are scared of their sons having future girlie names.

My son's name is Sawyer. Would it matter if there was a girl named Sawyer next to him? I don't think so but these really aggressive responses I've seen have begun to stab at my courage.... Argh :)

• Is it pronounced Luke-a?
    Lilypie Fifth Birthday tickers
    Lilypie Third Birthday tickers

• Yes phonetically : Lu-kah
  • These are beautiful names. There are enough Sophie & Olivia's - beautiful but quota met I think:). Kael is especially unique. Exciting to see which it will be! :) 

• Eh, Leslie was traditionally a boys name before someone decided to give it to their girl and now look, it's totally a girls name ;-)