June 2013 Moms
Options

Milk supply questions

I'm sure this is a stupid question but I can't seem to find any intelligent articles on Google. 

I was visiting with my MIL over the weekend.  She was saying this weekend about how it's impossible for someone to have low supply.  In other words, you will always produce enough milk for your baby. 

I haven't heard of this.  I'm hesitant to take breastfeeding advice from someone who (1) didn't breastfeed and (2) is h*ll bent we are having a girl based solely on the heart rate.

Thoughts?

ETA: Fixed a typo

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Milk supply questions

• Options
    I am no expert, but from what I've read so far, unless you've had some kind of breast surgery that's damaged ducts in your breasts, you shouldn't have a problem with supply if you're nursing on demand, from both breasts, not supplementing, etc.  I'd recommend reading a breastfeeding book; I just finished the American Academy of Pediatrics' New Mothers' Guide to Nursing, and I'm planning on reading the La Leche League book next.
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic
    Lilypie Second Birthday tickers
    BabyFruit Ticker

4 losses: Natural m/c 8w 1/11, CP 12/11, CP 3/12, and our perfectly healthy baby girl Charlotte Grace, missed M/C 5/31/12 at 8w5d
    DX: Endo, heterozygous MTHFR, low progesterone
    Surprise unmedicated BFP 9/21/12!! Beta #1 9/22 (10 DPO) 46 Beta #2 9/24 (12 DPO) 226! Heartbeat 136 bpm at 7w! It's a BOY!  Theodore Joshua born 5/23/13 at 7:36am via c/s, 7lb13oz, 19.25in
    TTC#2 5/14, BFP 8/15/14!  Beta #1 16 (11 DPO), Beta #2 71 (14 DPO) Beta #3 164 (16 DPO) Beta #4 633 (21 DPO) Beta #5 1487 (23 DPO) Heartbeat 121 bpm at 6w6d!  EDD 4/25/15
  • Options