Adoption

Intro and questions about fertility treatments + adoption

I've been lurking on this board here and there and thought it was about time to post an intro. My history is in my siggy, but bottomline is we are pursuing IVF and DIA at the same time. Because of my age and advanced DOR, it's unlikely that I'd be able to have more than 1 child (if I can have any) and we always wanted a big family so we decided to do both.

We are in NC so if anyone has any experiences (positive or negative) with any of the local agencies or recommendations for agencies in neighboring states, I would appreciate any info you have!

I'm a bit worried because I've heard some agencies do not want applicants to pursue fertility treatments at the same time and some may actually take your name off the waiting list if you become pregnant. Does anyone have any experience with this?

Sorry for the noob questions, I'm still learning! Thank you for all the ladies who contributed to the FAQs, they were very helpful!

**Warning: Losses and living child mentioned**
BFP#1 1/31/12, EDD 10/6/12 Harrison Gray born sleeping @ 18w6d. You changed our lives little guy.
BFP#2 EDD 10/29/13, C/P 2/25/13, Bye little Ish, we barely got to know you.
BFP#3 EDD 12/21/13, Baby Boots born 11/23/13 My rainbow baby!

imageView Full Size Imageimageimage
January PAL Siggy Challenge: Good Advice

Re: Intro and questions about fertility treatments + adoption

• Welcome to the board!  I don't personally know the answers to your questions, but I'm sure you'll get some good info from some of the ladies doing DIA.  I wish you the absolute best in both IVF and adoption : )

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Pregnancy Ticker}

• Yes, there are some agencies that want you to close the door on fertility treatment. For some it's a philosophical thing (focus on one route at a time), for others it's a logistical thing (potential for virtual twinning if you get pg and matched at the same time).