Health & Exercise
Options

Frustrated as hell

Okay, so my background is that I used to be extremely obese. After I delivered my son, I was 288lbs and 5'5. Through counting calories (little to no exercise), I lost a lot of weight and have been maintaining for about the past 18 months at ~175lbs, plus or minus a few pounds.

I recently decided that I was ready to lose the rest of the weight, so I decided to do the Jillian Michaels 30 Day Slimdown (the combo of the 30 Day Shred, Banish Fat Boost Metabolism, and No More Trouble Zones). I've been following the plan religiously and I am on day 13 right now. 

I haven't lost any weight. Not a pound. And I am still counting calories and eating a balanced diet. I average around 1400 calories a day.

It's been really depressing. After two weeks, shouldn't I be seeing some sort of results on the scale? I've been working out hard and I don't want to give up but this seems so incredibly frustrating. 

Re: Frustrated as hell

• Options
    It's not just about losing weight...if you are all of a sudden adding exercise into your routine when you hadn't been doing any previously, additional weight loss will not happen overnight - you are going to be toning and whatnot right now.  It takes time (and remember, you are only on day 13 right now).  Are you even taking in enough calories to meet the additional demand created by an exercise program added in?  Do yourself a favor and just put the scale away.  You become too dependent on that and it's numbers it's going to have the opposite effect of what you are trying to achieve. 
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Options

It happened fast last time, when I was just doing the Shred. Granted, I was exercising maybe three times a week then and now I am doing 6 days a week, but I didn't think that would make the difference.