Preemies
Options

Becoming a NICU nurse?

Anyone go from being a NICU mom to a NICU nurse? often I get an urge to go back to school to become a nurse and after this whole experience I specifically would like to work in the NICU. The nurses in my case made the whole terrible experience bearable and I'd love to help others in the same way. But I'm wondering if having prior experience in the NICU would hurt or help me in a job situation?

Anyone else have these same feelings and go through with it? 

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Becoming a NICU nurse?

• Options

That's really funny you say that.  I am an attorney, but with my son in the NICU a full month, I did a little soul searching, sitting in that chair next to his crib (what am I doing with my life professionally, life is too short and precious, etc.).  Ironically, I got laid off and then had a really hard time finding work about 4 months later, and was out of work another year.  Long story short, I seriously considered nursing school but got another job in the meantime. 

The other area (other than NICU) that I was interested in was maternity...so I've decided that eventually (probably once all my children are in grade school) I will become a certified doula. 

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options