Working Moms

Bad Feeling

So I'm freaking out a little bit. I'm an attorney at a small commercial litigation firm. While I was out on maternity leave, my boss forwarded me a legal resume of another attorney. I have no idea why he did this. I don't know if he did it on accident or if he was trying to ask me "Why am I getting these resumes" or what...but then I just got a phone call from another attorney asking if my boss had reviewed his resume.  Even more, there was another guy in the office earleir today who was an attorney who my boss appeared to be interviewing. Now I am starting to freak out that I am being replaced.  The only other thought would be if he is going to hire another full-time attorney which means that would cut into my workload...not that that would necessarily be a bad thing, but if that were the case, I would have thought he would have said something to me.     

EDIT: My paralegal said the guy he was meeting with was about a case and she said she would not worry about the other because people are always sending in their resumes and that is probably all it was.

IF DX: DOR & Fragile X pre-mutation carrier
2011: FSH 13.3 & E 99; AMH 0.54 2nd FSH 6.2 E 40's AFC: 8
BFP from Clomid/IUI ~ Pre-e and IUGR during pregnancy ~ DS born 9/4/12
Feb./March 2013: AMH less than 0.16 (undectable) and AFC = 4;
BFP from supps ~ DS#2 due May 2014

May 2014 January Siggy Challenge:

Re: Bad Feeling

• imagePrivacyWanted:

I'd be freaked out too...BUT, I've been at my firm almost 4 years. In that time I've seen them replace 2 attorneys after interviewing candidates. Everytime the partners were sure to schedule the interviews around when the soon-to-be replaced attorneys would be in the office (ie they'd send them to some random depo, or something).   In small firms I think it's the norm to do this.  And especially since you're PT I would think they'd have the foresight to only interview on days you're off.