Washington Babies

Thinking about moving to Washington :)

Hey Bumpies.

A little intro: My SO and I are both 21, and expecting our first son in just a few short weeks! He is originally from Northern CA, and I am from Southern Ca. We both now live (temporarily, hopefully) in Southern CA. I just completed my final semester of school in July, and have been taking a pause on the job hunt as of late. Seeing as though I was 5ish months pregnant when I graduated college, I hadn't been having any luck with a job hunt.

I am now currently trying to pursue my career in travel, tourism & hospitality. We both really love Washingon, and wanted to ask fellow parents and/or parents-to-be:

1. What is the cost of living in your neighborhood? (median income, housing costs, etc.)
  2. What are the demographics like in your neighborhood?
  3. (in your opinion) Where are the safest neighborhoods for a family?
  4. Have you made the move from out of state? From where? What was it like?
 Thanks for all your help, ladies!
V|V TSP V|V

Re: Thinking about moving to Washington :)

• Hi,  

I read your post and I too was from Southern Cali. I moved to Washington state 5 years ago and I never regreted it a bit despite the comments that people thought I was crazy to leave the sunshine state for the rainy state. 

The cost of living here is about 3/4 less than Cali now. It was 1/2 five yers ago. Washington state has the highest minimum wage rate. In terms of housing, it's buyers market right now. You will get more for your money. Definetely will help when the price of gas is 50cents less than Cali.

Nice places in Washington 45 minutes south of downtown seattle Olympia(hippie,eclectic and cheap) 40 min North tacoma, 35 min North federal way, 20minutes Renton highlands(my neck of the woods) Belevue, 15north of downtown Ballard, redmond.