Working Moms
Options

Possible Job Change - tell them about DS?

Ok, ladies - I could use some advice.  I am an attorney.  Right now, I work at a mid-large firm in DC.  I may have an opportunity to go in-house at a company (in a position that requires expertise in my practice area).  Ideally, being in an in-house position (and a little closer to home) will make my schedule a little more "normal."  I don't expect it to be a strict 9-5 situation, but I am hoping the hours are a little more sane than being at a firm.  Assuming I get an offer and take this new job, I will have to leave the office at a decent time (by 5:15 pm at the latest) to pick up DS from daycare most evenings.  I would plan to get in around 8:00 am to compensate for the "early" evening departure.  My question is: should I voluntarily tell my potential new boss (the general counsel) that I have an 8 month old and that it is very important to me that I be around to spend time with him and put him to bed each night (even if it means I need to pick work back up after he goes to sleep at night)?

All of my contacts thus far (recruiter, initial interview with GC and assistant GC) have been focused on the position, my qualifications, etc. Obviously, I know they cannot ask me what my marital/family situation is.  But at the same time, this is a very small legal department and they are trying very hard to make sure the person they choose will be a good fit.  If my needing to leave by a certain time each night will cause them any concern, I would rather get it out there and make everyone's expectations clear from the start.  I am used to working odd hours to get things done - like after DS goes to sleep.  And my billable hours have still been relatively high since coming back from leave, so I am not worried that I will not be able to put in the hours they need.  I am just worried that they may have more of a concern with "face time" than my partners have currently.