1st Trimester

beta #'s

So I'm new to this whole beta #'s thing. This is my second child and with my first child (which was 7 yrs ago) my OBGYN never even mentioned getting my hcg levels tested. But after our miscarriage last year and chemical pregnancy earlier this year I want to get them done. I've had the same OBGYN the entire time and when I called to make my 8wk apt and expressed my concern since i've had so many problems she still didn't suggest we do the testing. So I called my PCP and they ordered a blood test right away. I had my first blood test last friday (Oct. 26) and HCG was 59 at 11DPO. Going for my second test tomorrow so keeping my fingers crossed the numbers are doubling.

How fast to dr's usually get the results??

Re: beta #'s

• I am also having my hcg #s monitored. I had an ectopic rupture in aug, had to have a tube and ovary removed so they are keeping a close eye on my #s till they are high enough to do an ultrasound and make sure the baby made it to my uterus this time!! I had my 1st blood test yesterday after 5pm and the dr called me with the results a little after noon today (13dpo 114.9). So it shouldnt take long for the dr to get results. I would assume the lab just faxes it to the dr office.

• The lab at the hospital usually had them in one hour so I just waited for them.
  • Loading the player...
  • If you get your blood drawn in the morning, they usually have the results back that afternoon. If you get it drawn in the afternoon, they usually have the results by the following morning.  A beta of 59 at 11dpo sounds great, crossing my fingers that the numbers are doubling. 
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic