Military Families

New Mommy and Husband is Always Deployed

When I married my husband he had been on shore duty for our entire "courtship". I have no experience or interest really in the military and therefore had no idea what I was really getting myself into. Shortly after getting married and moving cross country, he left. He had told me prior to moving that he would likely get deployed 6 or so months after arriving...which he did. However, there were the "work ups" leading up to the deployment which led to him being away for almost all of the time leading up to the actual deployment. Much to our surprise, (since we literally had like 5 minutes to get pregnant), we did and my very first thought after learning I was pregnant was, he is going to miss it. He left when I was 5 months pregnant and was gone for the rest of it, my baby's birth and the first 3 months of his life. What got me through this is that he kept telling me once they got back, that was it, he would be home and we would be a family. Shortly after getting back, he started leaving again for weeks at a time and we soon learned he was being deployed AGAIN. I literally had an out of body experience when I heard this. I was SO upset, angry, hurt, devastated and felt so misled. So hes now been gone for 2 months, leaving me alone with my baby (we are across the country from all friends and family) and they keep extending and extending his deployment-its now into June. I feel like Im going to break. I am so hurt that I find myself being mean and hurtful to my husband too. I dont know how to move beyond all the lost memories and once and a life time things he has missed. I am very liberal and do not see my husband being a part of the military as anything to be proud of so that argument doesnt take me far. I am trying to be strong for my baby, and I am, but I am just breaking inside because I just cant take all this time apart. By the time he gets back he will have been gone for 24 of 26 months.