Adoption
Options

Long, adopted related struggles.

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting  here, and I will try and make this short but it involves a lot of backstory..

So my DH had a daughter eight years ago when he was only 19 years old. Him and the BM had an on-again, off-again relationship and she was only 17 years old. DH decided to give up his rights, but (from my understanding) you have 48 hours to change your mind after signing rights away, and the next day DH decided he had made a mistake and went to courthouse to try and fight it.

BM met him outside and told him that as long as he didn't fight it, he could see the baby whenever he wanted..DH agreed, and unfortunately BM did not uphold her end of the bagain and DH was only allowed to see the baby one time when she was three weeks old, and then not again until she was six years old.

(BM tells me that DH did not try and contact her to see baby, DH tells me that he repeadtedly tried to contact her but she changed her contact information)

Fast forward to now, I will call baby "B".

BM got married a few years after B was born and her husband adopted B and has raised B from the get go, B knows that she is adopted, and also has been told that DH is her "biological father" although when BM and AF (adopted father) first explained who DH was to B, they said he was a man who she "shared her blood with" and later told her DH  was her biological father.

DH has been in contact with BM for the past, probably, 5 years, and has gotten updates on how B is doing and we would see pictures of B on facebook, two years ago B's adopted father reached out to us and told us we could meet B. We were beyond exstatic. At the time that we met her B still only knew that DH was the man she "shared blood with" and not that he was her biological father.

The meeting went well and BM and AF agreed that we could see B once a year unless she asked to see us more, and in that case we could see her as soon as she asked.