Rhode Island Babies

Thinking about moving to Rhode Island :)

Hey Bumpies.

A little intro: My SO and I are both 21, and expecting our first son in just a few short weeks! He is originally from Northern CA, and I am from Southern Ca. We both now live (temporarily, hopefully) in Southern CA. I just completed my final semester of school in July, and have been taking a pause on the job hunt as of late. Seeing as though I was 5ish months pregnant when I graduated college, I hadn't been having any luck with a job hunt.

I am now currently trying to pursue my career in travel, tourism & hospitality. We both really love Rhode Island, and wanted to ask fellow parents and/or parents-to-be:

1. What is the cost of living in your neighborhood? (median income, housing costs, etc.)
  2. What are the demographics like in your neighborhood?
  3. (in your opinion) Where are the safest neighborhoods for a family?
  4. Have you made the move from out of state? From where? What was it like?
 Thanks for all your help, ladies!
V|V TSP V|V

Re: Thinking about moving to Rhode Island :)

• Hello, I just moved here a year ago. I lived here a few years ago in northern Rhode Island (hated it). Now I live in Westerly and LOVE IT!!! If you are looking for a tourism career, safe schools and neighborhoods, and a lovely downtown with a ton of family friendly activities southern RI is definitely the place to be. It is more conservative and more expensive, but worth it. It is cute small town New England here.

There is the Westerly Hospital with Women's Health Center, where I go. There is also South County Hospital near South Kingstown, which is bigger and newer. I moved here from NY with my husband and we fell in love, but it isn't very diverse here. People have been very friendly though, possibly because we are straight, white, and married, but still friendly.