International Bumpies

BCG Vaccine?

Did your kids get the BCG vaccine where you are? The one that scars their shoulder?

DH and I don't have it, I think they stopped giving it in Canada after our parents' generation.

But I recently heard that not everywhere in the UK gives it, but it's mandatory in London.

Strange?

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: BCG Vaccine?

• I read on a mummy blog that you can get out of it as an expat, not sure if it's true.  I didn't even know this vaccine existed before I moved here.  We just got tested in school in the US.  Also as a teacher I had to be tested before getting a job.  

I guess I fall through cracks here not having the vax. 

I feel like the risk is so small for this one.  Whenever I would take the test they would ask me if I visited Africa or had spent a good deal of time in a jail.  

Whereas Chicken pox is a really risk and is not done in the UK.   

Pre English Reception Pictures at H's High School
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic
    Bio
  • James got it earlier this year. I requested it because we are going on holiday to South Africa at the end of the year. And he qualified because his parents are South African. They were suppose to offer it to him at birth, but didn't for some reason. 

Edit: Did the girls have it? 

Lilypie Kids Birthday tickers
  • Loading the player...
  • Yeah, the girls had it, and recently I had a TB test and they were shocked that I didn't have the vac as a kid
  • They were shocked that I never had the MMR, but I have since discovered that unless you went private in SA they only offered you the measles vaccination and to the other 2. I was a military daughter so I always had to go to the military hospital or sick bay.
  • I dont know what this is? W is up to date with his jAbs, but hasn't hAd it.
    Mum to W (4) and M (nearly 2)
  • imagewelshgirl:
    I dont know what this is? W is up to date with his jAbs, but hasn't hAd it.