Working Moms

Would this bother you?

First off, DH and I are foster parents.

Older LO has been going to daycare since the middle of August.  I recently noticed that the teacher (s) has/have started writing an abbreviated version of his name on his papers.  Since he's in foster care, I can't post his name online.  When I saw it on the papers I just assumed it was to save space (his name is 9 letters long), but today when we left one of the teachers called "good bye ___shortened name___

I have two issues with this:

1. I really like LO's name and am not a fan of the abbreviated version (although the abbreviated version is a common name, just not a common nick name for little ones name)

2. As foster parents we aren't allowed to give the kids any nicknames not approved by the birthparents (weird I know, but the rules).

Would you mention this to someone?  His lead teacher? the director?  I don't want to be one of "those" parents, because I'm a teacher and I swore I never would be.

Sorry the post is so vague, it would make more sense if I could post his name.

~*Jenna*~

TTC since November 2009.

Currently licensed foster parents with the hope of adopting!  Also pursuing pregnancy through IUI!  First IUI scheduled 10/3/13

Currently loving our placements:

A 1/08

C 4/11

K 6/12

Re: Would this bother you?

• We had this issue.  DC called our son AJ when his real name was Austin.  We asked the teachers to call him by his real name and had't had a problem since.  We were nice about it and said we want him to learn his real name, not AJ.  
  • If it is a real concern to you I'd just mention it to the director just so that I know everyone will be on the same page.

But without knowing really anything about the foster system, is it actually against the rules for the teachers to give him a nickname or just for the foster parents? What if it was his friends who gave him the nickname? Are his friends allowed to call him the nickname but not his teachers?