Food Allergy

question about testing, any info helps :)

I am very new to this whole allergy thing.. a little back story if you're interested... or if you don't wanna read it all, I understand, just skip to the question ;)

No one in my entire family has any food allergies, nor does anyone in DH's so we know absolutely nothing... when our DS first turned one he had a bite of PB&J and started breaking out, acting lethargic and throwing up.  I was so scared, I called his Pedi.. they told me to run to the pharmacy and get Benedryl.. we gave it to him and he was fine..  I've asked about it at subsequent pediatrician appointments and they just keep telling us to avoid giving him any peanut items until he is 2 when we can get him tested.  At the same time, we noticed that if DH or I have peanut butter and, say, kiss DS on the cheek.. he will get a small rash where he have kissed him :/   Obviously, since we noticed this we try our very best to keep anything peanut away from him.

My questions is, what/how do they test for allergies in a 2 year old?  Is it a blood test or one of those "prick" tests?  Can they tell you how severe the allergy is?   His next appointment isn't until then so I want to be prepared.. can you think of any other questions/info I should know going into his 2 year check up?

thanks!! 

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: question about testing, any info helps :)

• I wonder why they are having you wait till 2? Peanut allergies are nothing to play with. DD was tested at the allergist at around 8-9 mo. They did the patch test on her back, and it just confirmed all of the symptoms that she was allergic to the milk protein. FWIW neither DH nor I have any FAs in our families either. I would press and ask the pedi to refer you to an allergist sooner.
    imageimage