Dads & Dads-to-be
Options

My Wife wants a Baby

So guys, my wife wants a baby. While I'm not totally object to the idea, I'm not sure I'm ready. I feel bad, I've even asked her if she would just skip her birth control on me and not tell me so she could get pregnant. I don't know what I'm going through here and could use some help.

Re: My Wife wants a Baby

• Options

I'm no expert but here is my story,  maybe it will help you answer your own question. 

I waited and waited until I was ready. I waited for college, waited for my career, waited for more money, a house, boat trips, partying, happy hours, etc. There was ALWAYS a good sensible reason to wait. I told myself I'm young and I can wait, besides age only matters for the girls, etc. ( I was wrong BTW, old man sperm can contribute to genetic mutations too )  

I'm now 44 and my wife and I are having our first child, a little girl, I'll be 45 when she is born. Not old, but not young either. The other night a few things really hit home as we talked about names, hospitals, and other fun stuff.  

1) My little girl may not have me alive or healthy to walk her down the aisle when she gets married. I'll be 70 when she is 25.

2) The odds of me ever becoming a grandpa became very small by waiting so long for everything to be "perfect". 

3) By waiting for the perfect conditions I was really being selfish. I wasted time from my future daughter. She will have less time to share her life with her parents. She gets an older version of us, with less energy, maybe less outdoor activities. We love mountains, snowboarding, hiking, etc. At 60 we can still do them but not like 40. 

4) And finally, when we found out we were pregnant we couldn't wait to share it with our families. Then whamo, It's possible when she has her kids we may not be around for her to share in her joy and, and for us to support her like our families are currently doing with us.