Pregnant after a Loss
Options

Vent: clueless moms

Can I vent? Please please don't flame me.

I just got off the phone with my SIL who is 7 weeks pregnant and it took her a year to get pregnant, which makes my heart break. She's a nurse in a general practice and I have no medical background so I would expect her to know a good bit more about general medicine. Don't get me wrong. I love her dearly and we've really bonded over our pregnancy challenges, though they are very very different.

She had her first appointment and was worried about the baby because her doctor says she is 7 weeks yet her last period was almost 10 weeks ago. She thought she had to be ten weeks because "you can only get pregnant two weeks after your period on day 14". Turns out she never charted anything, as was obviously recommended, and she's only been having sex blindly around day 14 for a year. She even wanted a referral for looking into fertility treatments, though she hadn't asked yet. She also has never been to an ob/gyn before or had an exam. Seriously?!? And you went to nursing school?!? I just don't get it. After all I've been through, I'd do about anything to make sure I have the most up to date information about my body and ive gone through some nasty testing to do so. But to understand so little?!

Moral of the story: know your own basic medical knowledge so you can advocate for yourself because apparently not all nurses do... I'm actually scared...

BPF 1. Baby Girl "Petri" 12/22/11 Said goodbye 12/27/11

BPF 2. Baby Boy "Roo" 1/20/12 Heartbeat 160b/m 2/15/12 Said goodbye 2/20/12

BPF 3. Rainbow Baby Boy "Creed"  4/28/12 Born healthy and alive 1/5/13

BFP 4. "Rainbow 2.0" 8/17/14 due 4/28/15

"Darling don't be afraid. I have loved you a thousand years. I love you a thousand more."

imageimageimage

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Vent: clueless moms

• Options

That's really odd, especially since she's a nurse! Indifferent