March 2013 Moms

OB or Midwife?

I'm currently seeing an OBGYN, but after learning about c-section rates, I'm starting to think that a midwife might be a better option if I want to preserve the chances of having a natural (medicated or not) birth experience. Anyone have any input?
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: OB or Midwife?

• I have no experience with midwives but I think she would be more caring and supportive. My OB wasn't on-call when I gave birth to DD and honestly after 20 hours of labor and an hour of pushing I kind of gave up and I heard the OB tell the nurses if she can't do it....c-section. No one was encouraging me or guiding me or anything. My aunt who luckily came the last few hours was yelling at me to man-up and PUSH! I thank her for that till this day. Otherwise, I think I would have given up.
  • I don't have an experience with an OB mine sent the midwife instead but after five hours of pushing I would have happily taken the c section.
     Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Lilypie Angel and Memorial tickers 

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • Each OB and practice is different. If you like your OB, there's no harm in discussing what exactly will happen with your L&D. There are many OB's out there who are not c-section happy. Also, if you are curious about midwives, look up local reviews and call. In the end, it's what makes you feel comfortable.
  • anc5anc5 member

I really feel that this is a personal chose. My husband and I decided to have a midwife. Really you have to look at who makes you comfortable and wants what you want. Not someone who will make you do what they want. If you want more information on midwives I recommend the documentary ?The Business of Being Born.? Also ask your OBGYN what their rate of C-sections is and discus your birth plan. I wish you luck and hope that you chose who is best for you.    

Daisypath Anniversary tickers BabyFetus Ticker