Indiana Babies
Options

So stressed and Exctied

I just found out on Sunday that i am pregnant. i have made an appointment with my OB for the 21st. but i am stressed and excited for it this is my first time pregnant. i am not sure how far along i am. i am not sure what i should and shouldn't do. what did you all do to make it the few weeks before you first appointment? all i can think about is how far along am i? when should i do this and that? i know most if not all will be answered at my first appointment but its only the 9th and its not till the 21st.

Re: So stressed and Exctied

• Options
    Congratulations!! I just found out Monday that I'm pregnant w/ my first, too. I immediately called the OB/GYN office near my house (I don't actually have an OB/GYN yet) and asked if I could come in for blood work to confirm. They were able to get me in that same day. They also have a pregnancy counselor who you can meet with to discuss all the do's and don'ts and they can answer questions you may have before your actual appointment with the doctor. 

Best of luck!!! 
  • Options

It's totally normal to worry a lot and feel like you don't know what to do. I was a basket case until my first appointments. Get a good standard pregnancy book (like What to Expect) or refer to a good website to get the basics on the dos and don'ts of early pregnancy and the typical course. Maybe browse the 1rst Tri board to see what other people are experiencing. Try not to obsess about your "symptoms" although it's almost impossible not too. Again, refer to a book or good website to see if what you're experiencing is normal. If you're concerned about anything specific, call your OB's office. They should be happy to answer any simple questions over the phone or will have you come in if they are concerned about anything you are experiencing. They are used to calls from nervous, newly pregnant ladies. And of course, ask us about anything if you feel comfortable...

Congratulations and good luck!