1st Trimester

Powerlifting and pregnant

I'm a personal trainer/strength and conditioning/crossfit coach. I'm also a competitive powerlifter. I won't be competing anymore until after the little one is born. I compete at 148lbs (though my walking weight is closer to 160) and so far squat 235, bench 135, and deadlift 303. Are there any other strong ladies prego out there that plan to keep lifting? How does your doctor feel about that? I haven't met with my doctor yet but I've known several powerlifters that lifted heavy (though less so towards the end) up until the last couple weeks.

Re: Powerlifting and pregnant

• Hey Girl!

You are a pretty impressive athlete!  I am a fitness instructor.  I teach a class with weights, Body Pump.  We do multiple reps with low weight on the bar.  My doctor told me to work at 75% of my capacity at all of my exercises.  It's tough.  I am wearing a heart rate monitor as a guide and not letting it get over 160.  A good friend of mine who is an athletic instructor used 160 bpm as a guide while pregnant and her baby is strong and healthy. 

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • imageaislinnanne:
    I'm a personal trainer/strength and conditioning/crossfit coach. I'm also a competitive powerlifter. I won't be competing anymore until after the little one is born. I compete at 148lbs (though my walking weight is closer to 160) and so far squat 235, bench 135, and deadlift 303. Are there any other strong ladies prego out there that plan to keep lifting? How does your doctor feel about that? I haven't met with my doctor yet but I've known several powerlifters that lifted heavy (though less so towards the end) up until the last couple weeks.

I know that there is a poster (GhostMonkey) who is also into weight lifting or power lifting. I'll page her on TTGP and she can help you out. 

LFAF Summer 2016 Awards:

Lilypie First Birthday tickers

• Loading the player...