October 2012 Moms

Lots of questions. Please help. :)

I am 29 weeks pregnant with our second child. I did not try breastfeeding at all with baby number one. And would like to this time around, I think. 

I would like some advice about all aspects. Questions to ask, things I need to know.

Is it possible to only pump and feed breast milk via bottle? 

Sorry I am very new to this whole aspect, pardon my dumb questions. :). Thanks guys :) 

Re: Lots of questions. Please help. :)

• I highly recommend posting your questions on the breastfeeding board! They're helpful!
  • Thanks I didn't know there was one :)
  • Loading the player...
  • IEtoLAIEtoLA member

People go about providing breast milk to their babies various ways.  I BF for 6 months.  I didn't pump and feed DD with a bottle until about 4-6 weeks, which is usually what they recommend when introducing a bottle.  Some people pump only and feed the baby via bottle, some exclusively BF and some will BF and/or pump.   There are a lot of issues that come about with BFing, like positions, when to start pumping if you start out BFing, storage of milk, etc.  

At any rate, like the previous poster said, the Breasfeeding board would be able to answer a lot of your questions and it would be a good place to lurk. 

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Check and see if the hospital you are delivering at offers a Breastfeeding class. If not, you could go to a LaLeche League meeting. Also, check out the book "The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding", it was a great resource for me.