High-Risk Pregnancy
Options

Pregnant with Lupus

I found out I'm about 4 weeks on Monday and I'm scared. Being a mom is the ONE thing that I have wanted for my whole life and now that my dream is coming true, I'm lost. I have great docs who all gave me a thumbs up to start trying and my husband is over the moon with giddiness. But the one thing I pray about every night is that I make it to 36 weeks.

I have SLE with kidney damage and Avascular Necrosis in my right hip. I do not want to mess this up, so I worry that I'm doing something wrong. I want all the tests now.  I want to hear the heart beat now. I want to see our baby on an Ultrasound now. Patience has never been a strength, but I just don't want to mess this up. My family and friends keep telling me that worrying will only increase the already high blood pressure. But I feel lost.

Re: Pregnant with Lupus

• Options

Wow, this is a weird coincidence. This is my first time on the baby boards and I was curious if there happened to be anyone with lupus! I have SLE and my rheumatologist just gave me the thumbs up to start TTC. I don't have any advice for you, except I know I will be a nervous wreck if/when I get pregnant. Have you read this blog:  https://www.despitelupus.blogspot.com/search/label/pregnancy? She has gone through two successful pregnancies with SLE. Let me know if you need to talk and good luck!

ETA: I just realized you're in Cordova! I live in Nashville! 

• Options