Food Allergy

Mspi may contain traces.....

I'm new to this mspi as dd was diagnosed last week. She is 10 weeks and has been having green poops since 6 weeks. 

When it says may contain traces of milk or may contain soy at the bottom of an ingredient list is this ok to eat? None of the ingredients list milk or soy so I'm assuming the companies are just covering their butts. Is this true?

Lilypie Premature Baby tickers

Re: Mspi may contain traces.....

• Right now the goal is to get it all out of her system  and get her some relief --- so I would say no, it's not safe to eat anything that may have "traces" dairy in it.

It could take up to a month before her system is clear of any dairy from your diet and once that happens then you will be able to see if "traces" affect her.  It does not affect all - but my DD was def. affected by anything that simply contained traces of dairy... but she has an allergy not an intolerance.

Good luck.  I would just try and stay clear of all that for now and see how things go later on once she has cleared up.

Lilypie Third Birthday tickers Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • how do you know its an allergy and not an intollerance
  • Loading the player...
  • imagemelandbri:
    how do you know its an allergy and not an intollerance

They present pretty much the same for the most part.  But DD also had blood in her stool - she had classic eczema resulting from the allergy.  Pedi sent us to an allergist and they did a skin scratch test for her.  the stratched her back with several common environmental allergins in addition to soy and milk.  She tested positive for diary only.

I do wish we tested for other foods becuase even after eliminating dairy from my diet she was still reacting badly.  She is now on alimentum.  She is still struggling with her eczema but she no longer as blood in her diaper.