School-Aged Children

Question from a teacher...

Hello ladies. I am a first grade teacher, and this is my first pregnancy. I wanted to ask you, as parents of school aged children for some advice.

If your first grader was in my class and asked me how the baby got in my tummy, how it's going to get out...or heaven forbid, my water breaks in class...what would YOU like me to tell your child?

I will be 24 weeks when we go back, so they will have TONS of time to ask me every question in the book. I just don't want to go in blind and say something that a parent does want....though, no, I would never ever give them the down and dirty truth...but I'm not sure exactly what I should say. I hope that makes sense... 

Anniversary

Re: Question from a teacher...

• I am also a FTM and a teacher and school ended when I was about 27 weeks.  I got a couple questions like that and always answered with, "those are questions for your family at home.," and just went right on to whatever we were supposed to be focused on. 
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • MrsSRMrsSR member

imageoprastr:
    I am also a FTM and a teacher and school ended when I was about 27 weeks.  I got a couple questions like that and always answered with, "those are questions for your family at home.," and just went right on to whatever we were supposed to be focused on. 

This!  I teach 3rd and just said the same thing as PP... talk about it at home with mom or dad.

• Loading the player...
  • Totally agree with previous posters, leave it to the parents.  This way you don't cross any lines since beliefs, religions, how open they want to be, will vary family to family.   A short note stating that you are pregnant and that you will leave it in the parents hands to field all questions and that you will do your best in preparing their child for the transition for when you go on maternity leave will be sufficient.