Toddlers: 12 - 24 Months

almost 16 month old not talking

I'm concerned about my son not talking like others do. He has no spoken words and doesn't make many sounds other than screaming when he's unhappy.  He doesn't hardly babble or never imitates sounds.  My son also can't follow when I point.  He did start pointing at 11 months, but I don't think he still understands what he's doing.  He can follow directions very well.  Anyone else have a child like this?

Re: almost 16 month old not talking

• DS was somewhat in the same boat... although he could say mama, dadda, and bella. He didn't walk until 17.5 months (the day before his early intervention eval), he qualified for speech intervention, but as a teacher I held off because I thought I would be able to work with him and monitor him, and we could add the service if he wasn't progressing. Once he completed that big milestone of walking his language increased quickly. My advice would be to call your pedi and ask about early intervention in your area. They will come do an eval and give you more information... if your son qualifies they will send someone to work on speech and whatever else he needs -- it's usually free, or very minimal cost until age 3, and then they qualify for services within the public school system. It could be nothing, or it could be something... early intervention is a great resource though because the sooner a kid gets help, the sooner they "catch up". GL!
    Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers Lilypie Third Birthday tickers Lilypie First Birthday tickers