Working Moms

Math Major Careers (not teaching)

I graduated with a BS in Math and Computer Science 5 years ago and have been working as a software engineer since then.  I would really prefer to change careers and do something that would use more of my math background.  I am not interested in teaching, mainly b/c there are tons of unemployed teachers in our area.  Just curious if anyone else on TB has a degree in math and what kind of career you have.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Math Major Careers (not teaching)

• Interesting question...

is this helpful?

https://www.maa.org/careers/profiles.html

• vigurlvigurl member

Finance/Accouting, Actuary, CPA

ETA my degree is not in math but these are options for you.

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Loading the player...
  • aglennaglenn member
    Underwriting is an option (banking or insurance).
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Statistics...research...good luck!
    AlternaTickers - Cool, free Web tickers Anniversary
  • I have an undergrad in math and an ms in statistics.  I work in sales forecasting - trying to predict sales for my company, which then drives the financial planning as well as the supply chain.

BFP #1: 2/14/11. EDD: 10/20/11. Missed m/c discovered in April at 12 weeks, d&c. BFP #2: 12/27/11. EDD: 9/9/2012.
  • You could also get into the investment world - quantitative analysis and models, monte carlo simulations, etc.

I have a BS in Math, and I thought about being an actuary for like 5 mins... I just knew it wouldn't be for me.  I actually work in Marketing, and there's a lot you can do with a Math background in Marketing.  Analytics, forecasting, etc.