Military Families
Options

do you have the movers unpack?

I am new to the Navy, my hubby is going to ODS in 1 week.  It will just be me and my 7 month old son when the movers come to deliver our household goods. What are the ups sides and and downsides to having the movers unpack?  TIA
Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: do you have the movers unpack?

• Options

imageccole32:
    I am new to the Navy, my hubby is going to ODS in 1 week.  It will just be me and my 7 month old son when the movers come to deliver our household goods. What are the ups sides and and downsides to having the movers unpack?  TIA

We moved in January and I didn't even know them unpacking was an option. I wouldn't ever take them up on that though. I like organizing my stuff and putting it where I think it should go. 

imageBabyFruit Ticker
  • Options
    I always have the movers unpack. I like seeing what was broken, & I hate dealing with boxes & packing materials. 

After 4 years, 3 failed IUIs and 2 failed IVFs our surprise miracle is here!
    My Blog

TTC # 2 BFP 03/02/13 = CP, BFP 05/14/13 = CP, BFP 08/09/13 = CP

RPL testing = normal

TI Cycle #1, 50 clomid days 3-7, 150 iu Follistim days 8-11 = BFP! EDD May 22, 2014

Betas: 13 DPO = 79, 15 DPO = 149, 19 DPO = 788, 22 DPO = 2031

• Loading the player...
  • Options
    kticektice member

We just finished our second PCS & I also like to unpack the boxes myself (because I'm kind of a freak about organization!) However, I do always ask them to assemble the larger items, such as re-attatching the legs to the dining room table, putting the bed frames together, etc. Also, If you choose to unpack yourself, the moving company will come back & pick up the cardboard & packing paper (Although I think that there is only a two-four week window on that, you should check when you call to schedule delivery)