Special Needs
Options

OT eval

Okay, so I called my Ped this morning, because my DD threw up from gagging on Mum Mum's yesterday.  Only, this happens every time she puts something in her mouth.  She can take a bottle alright, and BFs during the night, she only eats 15ish oz (on a good day) and 6-8 oz (on a day when she is sick- which seems like all the time these days).  We have been battling ear infections and the flu (reoccurring) for the last month.  So, I called the Ped to find out if it was normal for a child to gag on a mum mum, then throw up (violently).  She threw so much up (I was surprised there was that much in her, but I had just gotten a 2 oz bottle in her) that she was down to yellowish color curdled milk.  It went all over.  So, my Ped said that it was finally enough, and we needed to get her in for an OT eval.  I am so scared.  I am a social worker, and help people get therapies daily, but, when it is you.....

So, I have been on the verge of tears ever since hearing this this morning.  I know it will be a good thing, it is just... I keep hoping for a miracle, something that just clicks that she wants to start eating.  It causes so much anxiety for me.  I feel chained to the house, because every night after work, I work on getting her to eat, since DC has difficulties.  I am sure this is uttered many times, but why can't my kid want to do something so basic- like eat???  I had a ENT tell me, that we are lucky, that kids like her 100 years ago wouldn't have survived.  Okay, I am sure he was right, but, um, I don't need to hear that right now!  On top of it all, she has had about 4 ear infections in the last 2 months, and the flu several times in the last 4 months.  

Anyone have experience with a 7ish month old OT eval for problems eating?  I know this is very specific, but I am at a loss and feel very helpless and alone.

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: OT eval

• Options