Special Needs

Potty training an autistic toddler

Is it any different than potty training an average toddler?  DS was dx in February as being on the spectrum (PDD).  He does therapy at home in the morning and at the center each afternoon. He is non-verbal but has tons of improvement already. 

We have him sit on the potty first thing in the morning and after breakfast.  Also before bedtime bath.  We get NOTHING.  He often cries and does not want to sit on the potty - especially for grandma who cares for him while we work during the day (when he is not at the center).  Do you have any tips for me or maybe a book I can read.

I'm very very new to this...  I know children on the spectrum tend to be visual learners.  I need help.  His age in on my ticker below.

TIA.

Lilypie Third Birthday tickers Lilypie First Birthday tickers

Re: Potty training an autistic toddler

• He might just not be ready.  ASDs are a developmental delay, so your son doesn't have the developmental maturity of a typical child his age( and he is on the low end of age for PT for typical kids).  My DS did not potty train until her was just over 4.  He was on a schedule at school, but would never go.  Over a long weekend, I just let him run around naked, and he didn't want to go on the floor, so he took himself into the bathroom and went on the toilet.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • I can't speak to ASD and potty training, but I have trained 2 boys.  2y4m is pretty young for a boy, IME.  Many, many of my friends didn't get their boys trained until the age of 3 and later.

So, don't stress about it yet.  He's still quite young.

promised myself I'd retire when I turned gold, and yet here I am
  • Loading the player...
  • I think I can feel you on that one. DS is not potty trained either, so I don't know what to advice you on. I offer and he always says no. Last night before bath, I opened the toilet and he said no.

At daycare, he sits on the toilet but doesn't go.