Breastfeeding

Breastfeeding diet.......What do you eat?

Hi ladies, 
Can you share what you eat or not eat while breastfeeding? I am new to this as I was unable to breastfeed our DS. I have heard things such as dairy and nuts can be aggravating as well as broccoli and cauliflower. 

Please share what you take in...... 
Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Pregnancy Ticker

Re: Breastfeeding diet.......What do you eat?

• I eat everything I normally would until I see my lo has a problem with it. I do find I need to drink extra water and eat some extra protein or I feel dizzy while bfing.  My last lo only had problems with broccoli and fiber one cereal, this lo doesn't seem to mind broccoli. It's all trial and error for me. 
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Untitled
  • I have been eating what I want so far and no problems yet that I know of.  But then again, I have only been BF'ing about 4 weeks so we shall see.
    Lilypie First Birthday tickersLilypie Kids Birthday tickersimageimageimage
  • Loading the player...
  • As long as your LO doesn't have dairy or soy issues, then to my knowledge, you can eat anything you want. I had an issue with oranges in the beginning when DD was a few weeks old. The citric acid gave her a diaper rash. I am now working oranges back into my diet and they don't seem to bother her. If you eat something and you see that it bothers your LO then cut it out for a while and try adding it back in later. 

Check out www.kellymom.com for some great resources on breastfeeding. 

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Everything I want.

And then a donut.

Breastfeeding is awesome.

• There is no special diet needed for breastfeeding. Sometimes babies have a sensitivity to certain foods, but there will be signs clueing you in.

After TTC with IR PCOS:
    April 2011: Metformin 1500mg + Clomid 100mg + Ovidrel + Prometrium = BFP!
    Beta #1 at 14DPO: 197 Beta #2 at 18DPO: 1296