Health & Exercise

Kettlebells?

Do any pregnant moms out there do Kettlebell workouts?

If so, what type of video do you follow? And how much weight do you typically use?

Thanks 

Re: Kettlebells?

• Are you currently using kettlebells? Are you working out regularly? Mid-pregnancy isn't the time to start a new routine. 
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Agreed with pp, have you been using them already?  I have been doing crossfit/kettlebell for 4 years already.  I did get one video that I keep meaning to use at home, thinking once I'm further along and need more modifications I might use it....

https://www.amazon.com/Pregnancy-Kettlebell-Workout-Lauren-Brooks/dp/B001UIDREM

From what I have heard Lauren Brooks' videos are quite good.  Figured it would be helpful to at least learn additional modifications.  We have quite a few pregnant ladies at my box (gym) so the instructors are fairly good at providing modifications so far. 

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

• Loading the player...
  • CincyWXCincyWX member

I did crossfit/ketllebell workouts for years before I got pregnant.  So I've switched over to crossfitmom.com and still do kettlebells for most of the lifts.  But now that Im 32 weeks I'm only doing 20# max and have to be aware of the big ole belly! 

(heck, i cracked myself in the nose with a kettlebell pre-pregnancy so my hubby is always reminding me not to smack myself in the belly with it)

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • imageNHRunner:

Agreed with pp, have you been using them already?  I have been doing crossfit/kettlebell for 4 years already.  I did get one video that I keep meaning to use at home, thinking once I'm further along and need more modifications I might use it....

https://www.amazon.com/Pregnancy-Kettlebell-Workout-Lauren-Brooks/dp/B001UIDREM