Special Needs

how do I go about finding therapists who will come to my child

instead of us going to them?  My Pedi doesn't know anyone and our current OT/PT just said they don't do it and acted like I was crazy to think that existed.

But it does exist right?  I've tried google and haven't found anything specific.  Thanks!

I am thinking about going back to work full time but the only way I could do that is if we could find OT/PT that will go to the daycare my son would be enrolled in.  Thanks!

Re: how do I go about finding therapists who will come to my child

• early intervention through your county or the preschool system through your school district depending on your child's age.  I'm a therapist that goes to the child's home/daycare.  What state are you?
  • I started with the professional organizations for therapists, like ASHA for SLPs. Many of the therapists and/or practices indicate on their web pages whether they are willing to travel to provide services in-home. 

It's a pretty common thing where I live. The child psych that we're working with currently comes to our house once a week to help teach us Floortime.

DD1, 1/5/2008 ~~~ DD2, 3/17/2010
  • Loading the player...
  • imagelazysusan:
    early intervention through your county or the preschool system through your school district depending on your child's age.  I'm a therapist that goes to the child's home/daycare.  What state are you?

I'm in VA.

So I just contact the school he is supposed to go and they will hook me up with OT/PT person?

• A quick google led me to https://211uwgrp.org/ through the VA early intervention website.  It gives you the contact info for the program by county.  HTH!

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • THanks.  I was just reading my county's page and it says they work with children up to age 2.  The website you quoted says 3.  My son is 4 so I'll call tomorrow and figure out what we can do.  Thanks!
  • imageObsession: