School-Aged Children

How do you feel about school ending?

We just ended our final 6 week period and 1st grade has already done their "end of year" program.   The last two years (KG and PreK4), the end of the year has been tough--esp the end of the program for PreK4 and KG graduation (oh so cute) & DC being another year older.  This year, I am sooooo ready for this to be over.  *I* am tired of weekly spelling words, sight words, reading books, etc.  I am sooo ready for summer!  You?

(I haven't gone through DS1's PreK program yet but I am not sure they have one in PreK3, but so far, I am not sad that he is going to PreK4 either).  I imagine I will be a mess again for DS2....

eta:  that should say STARTED our final 6 weeks

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: How do you feel about school ending?

• Well, the fact that I'm a high school teacher probably has something to do with this, but I always look forward to school ending!  Love my job, but I also love summer vacation.  Today is my last day before spring break, and I can't WAIT to get out of here!

Don't get me wrong -- I get sentimental about end-of-year stuff.  Last year I had both Kindergarten graduation and 5th grade graduation.  "Milestone" years for both my kiddos.  Sigh.

But this year they're in 1st and 6th, and I'm really looking forward to the pool, the beach, camping, doing crafts -- all the stuff we love to do during summer.   

High School English teacher and mom of 2 kids:

DD, born 9/06/00 -- 12th grade
    DS, born 8/25/04 -- 7th grade