Working Moms
Options

Pink eye- question?

I have no experience with this. 

My DCP's DD has pink eye.  They caught it early, she's on eyedrops already.  The doctor told them that she will be fine/not contagious after being on the drops for 12 hours. 

DD is 4 and is one of the daycare kids (as in, she's there all day w/ the other kids).  

DCP is cleaning everything today and is going to be open tomorrow, but is leaving it to the discretion of the parents as to whether to send their child or not.

DS wasn't there yesterday or today because these are his normal days to be w/ my parents.

Given this, would you send your child? 

"Beer is living proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy."
~Benjamin Franklin

Lilypie Third Birthday tickers
DS dx with celiac disease 5/28/10

Re: Pink eye- question?

• Options

DS has had it twice, and it spreads through DC like wildfire.  I think if the DCP cleans the toys, and pretty much everything (pink eye lives on surfaces a long time) and her DD is on eye drops it should be fine.

I'd consider you disinfecting too, and always washing hands before and after doing things, and try to keep your child from rubbing their eyes, because that's how it would spread.

Both times our DS had it we caught it really quick (had the green gooey eye gunk signs so we knew) made sure to get him on drops, and disinfected our house from top to bottom until he wasn't contagious anymore.

Its probably one of the lesser contagious things kids can get but its still an inconvenience.

• Options
    Yes I would send my child b/c the person is not contagious after using the drops for 24 hrs.  Also I am pretty sure by this point your LO has already been exposted to it.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Loading the player...
  • Options

If I'm reading this correctly...

DCP's kid came down with pinkeye yesterday and got on eye drops right away?