Parenting after 35
Options

WWYD - extra money

I have $23k in stocks that I can sell.  DH and I have been talking for a few years about redoing our deck - it is small and we want to double the size (no clue how much this would cost).  We don't have a ton of extra cash so I was thinking we could sell the stock and build the new deck and then with anything that is extra - we could either put that money into our retirement fund or pay down our second mortgage (which is about $30K give or take).  What would you do?
Jenni Mom to DD#1 - 6-16-06 DD#2 - 3-13-08 

Re: WWYD - extra money

• Options

Economically speaking, now isn't a great time to cash out any investments. I think you would regret it.

Instead I would get 2 or 3 quotes on how much the deck of your dreams will cost and then start saving.  Cut out all extras and put them in your "dream deck" fund and then you will feel GREAT about saving for it and will be able to toast to your ability to save while you sit on your dream deck!

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Options
    ITA above poster. Also, I don't understand why you'd want to "invest" in a new deck when you could invest in paying off your second mortgage. It seems smarter to me to pay off your mortgages before upgrading your home unless you're planning on selling. And even then, unless it will get you a higher buying offer, I don't see the point. But that's just me.
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    PeskyPesky member

imagentyravgmom:
    ITA above poster. Also, I don't understand why you'd want to "invest" in a new deck when you could invest in paying off your second mortgage. It seems smarter to me to pay off your mortgages before upgrading your home unless you're planning on selling. And even then, unless it will get you a higher buying offer, I don't see the point. But that's just me.

Have to agree with this.  Only exception would be if the old deck is a safety hazard.   

DD -- 5YO
    DS -- 3YO

• Options