Cloth Diapering

Can we talk about proper fit?

Ok, I am a CDing newbie!  DS is almost 1 month old and is about 9.5 lbs.  I am so excited to get him into the cloth diapers that we have gotten.  From what I can tell, the Flips seem to fit him the best at this point.

Most of the diapers that I have gotten (BG, FB, Kawaii, Sunbaby, and Flips) are all OS snaps.  My assumption would be that I would make it as small as possible based off of how little he is, but I know that different babies need different settings based on height, leg size, etc....

How do I go about knowing that I have the right fit for my LO?  Obviously, I don't want them to be too tight or too loose.  Is there some sort of rule of thumb?  Like a "two finger" rule (if that makes any sense)?

Thanks for any input that you can give me!

Re: Can we talk about proper fit?

• Once the diaper is on, lift his legs up and check underneath - there should be no gape.

The waist should be nice and snug. 

Those are pretty much the only two rules I go by.  :) 

• Trial and error.  If it leaks out the legs, then it's too loose.  :)

Dont worry, you'll figure it out.  GL!

Lilypie Second Birthday tickers Lilypie Pregnancy tickers
  • Loading the player...
  • imageScoutandRice:

Once the diaper is on, lift his legs up and check underneath - there should be no gape.

That's pretty much what I look for. More so the leg than anything else, since that can "hide" if you don't lift to look. 

DD 1.18.2012
  • imageSoonToBeMsP:
    imageScoutandRice:

Once the diaper is on, lift his legs up and check underneath - there should be no gape.

That's pretty much what I look for. More so the leg than anything else, since that can "hide" if you don't lift to look. 

Just to clarify:  When I am looking at his legs, I just want to make sure that the elastic is fairly snug with no gaping?

I pretty much get the waist adjustments...I guess it's the rise that confuses me.

• bgf1bgf1 member