Special Needs

New here; kids with cancer?

Hello! I am new to the bump. Husband and I are expecting a baby in November and are super excited...in trying to find out everything I can, I stumbled upon this site.  Eventhough I have an 8 and 7 year old, I feel totally lost with this pregnancy.

Anyhow, my 7 year old was diagnosed with "Langerhan's Cell Histiocytosis" at the age of 21 months. He was on chemo/steroids for 7 months and went into remission. Unfortunately, 16 months later (at the age of 3) he relapsed and we repeated the same treatment path. It will be 3 years in Jun that he will be disease free.

Are there any other parents on here with children who have similar stories?

KEEP CALM and LATCH ON!

dee & bee
mom & dad to 3 boys!
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: New here; kids with cancer?

• imagedee & bee:

Hello! I am new to the bump. Husband and I are expecting a baby in November and are super excited...in trying to find out everything I can, I stumbled upon this site.  Eventhough I have an 8 and 7 year old, I feel totally lost with this pregnancy.

Anyhow, my 7 year old was diagnosed with "Langerhan's Cell Histiocytosis" at the age of 21 months. He was on chemo/steroids for 7 months and went into remission. Unfortunately, 16 months later (at the age of 3) he relapsed and we repeated the same treatment path. It will be 3 years in Jun that he will be disease free.

Are there any other parents on here with children who have similar stories?

I follow this blog, https://www.starringscarlett.com/

The little girl was sent home to basically die and they found a 2nd opinion and she just completed chemo.  

The other blog that I follow, is, https://karingforkeegan.blogspot.com/

He is one of the strongest little boys i've ever had the pleasure of reading about, and just recently passed away.   

I'm not sure if we have any active posters whose child is currently going through chemo and/or in remission.