Stay at Home Moms
Options

? for those who have a daycare...

Sorry I know that I have seen this on this board before but I went back several pages and couldn't find anything.Nor did the search function turn anything up.

I am about to have Lo#2 and am contemplating starting a small in home daycare. I love kids and have a bachelors in child development. I currently work in a restaurant that I have worked at for 8 years...so far it has worked for us. I work evenings, husband works early mornings and is home by 2pm. I really really hate the current job but the money and schedule has worked for us.

Anyways, I am thinking of just taking a few kids to help supplement our income. Just wondering for those of you who currently do this...how do you like it? Any major pros and cons? I am a little afraid to take the leap and then end up hating working in the home all the time. But I would love to have weekends off and have dinner with my family more than 3 nights a week. Any insight would be appreciated. TIA!

BabyFruit TickerBaby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: ? for those who have a daycare...

• Options

It's a lot of work, but I enjoy the money.  

Getting licensed in CA is a PITA...  MAJORLY.

I work 8am - 6pm.  My parents know that I start making dinner for my family at 5pm, and that means the kids are parked in front of the TV or at the table doing supervised coloring/playdoh until pick up.  

Pros - cash, write-offs, friends come over to play with my kids everyday, make my own hours

Cons - housebound, arranging appts for myself and my kids is difficult without an assistant 

Prudence
    Lilypie First Birthday tickers
    Otis
     Lilypie Third Birthday tickers
    Hank 

Lilypie Kids Birthday tickers
  • Options
    imageJaysonandKristin:

It's a lot of work, but I enjoy the money.  

Getting licensed in CA is a PITA...  MAJORLY.