January 2011 Moms

job finding woes

Sorry this is long, I just really need to vent about this. I'm feeling SO badly about myself right now.

I am getting so fed up with looking for a job! I have been on the market since September 2010 but only started a super serious job search in September 2011. I have a PhD looking at brain and language research and I'm trying to find a job in the NY area.

I have not found many people looking for postdocs in the NY area in my field. I've had two job offers since I started looking, 1 local with wackos and 1 six hours away. BOTH had their funding cut and ended up not hiring anyone (the National Institutes of Health cut a lot of funding). I can't really leave this area for a postdoc because they pay about $40k/year and only last 2 or 3 years. DH has tenure at his school and earns much more than that. His salary can support our family, $40k/year cannot (although I'm sure in other parts of the US it does, but losing tenure for a temporary job is still pretty dumb).

The faculty positions I've applied for are either looking for someone with a postdoc (which I don't have) or who is a certified speech pathologist. Since my degree is research and not clinical, I don't have either.